Bike in Philly

Our 2020 Virtual Gala is in memory of our former board member and cycling advocate, Russell Meddin.

Read more about Russell’s outstanding advocacy for all Philadelphians here

Register for Gala Tickets

Sponsor the Event

We’ll be honoring Stephen Del Monte, Founder & CEO of DelMoSports, with the Maguire Award and presenting Val Arkoosh, MD, Chair of Montgomery County Board of Commissioners, with the Connect the Circuit Award. And, continuing our tradition from last year, we’ll announce the Bicycle Coalition Youth Cycling Athlete of the Year.

Bike in Philly

Maguire Award Honoree Stephen Del Monte, Founder & CEO of DelMoSports

Stephen Del Monte is the founder and CEO of DelMoSports, Inc.. A former social worker, youth athletic coach and middle school math teacher, he founded the company in 2004 with his wife Jamie in Wildwood Crest, New Jersey, where they live with their two children. They specialize in elite destination events along the southern New Jersey shore and Philadelphia, with challenging courses, spectacular scenery and amazing vacation opportunities for athletes and their families. Now with over 13,000 finishers annually, DelMoSports’ participants travel from around the world and compete at every level, from beginner to elite. DelMoSports has been a consistent supporter of the BCYC Triathlon team by sponsoring youth athletes to race at their Jersey Shore events each summer.

Bike in Philly

Connect the Circuit Award Honoree Val Arkoosh, Montgomery County Board of Commissioners

Dr. Valerie Arkoosh is a parent of three, physician, health policy expert, and community leader who was appointed a Montgomery County Commissioner on January 29, 2015, elected to a full four year term on November 3, 2015 and re-elected on November 5, 2019. She has served as Chair of the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners since November 2016. A practicing obstetric anesthesiologist for over two decades, most recently at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Val has always put the health and well being of her community and local families first.  As Commission Chair, Val oversees a budget of $430 million and directs more than 2,500 employees. The Commission manages human services for more than 100,000 residents, Voter Services, over 130 county bridges, 75 miles of roads and other infrastructure, 7 county parks and nearly 100 miles of trails.

Born and raised in Omaha, Nebraska, Val has a degree in Economics from Northwestern University, and attended medical school at the University of Nebraska College of Medicine.  She moved to Philadelphia in 1986 for residency training at Jefferson Medical College. Val served as Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at Drexel University College of Medicine from 1999-2004 where she successfully restored her department to fiscal solvency following the Allegheny University bankruptcy. Frustrated by watching the families she cared for fall through the cracks time and time again – Val earned a Masters Degree in Public Health from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health with a concentration in Health Policy giving her the tools to increase her impact outside of the exam room. Through her many local and national leadership positions, Val has been a tireless advocate for fair and equitable treatment of all people. Val lives in Springfield Township, Montgomery County, with her husband Jeff Harbison and their three children.

The event is co-chaired by Gretchen Cooney and Lee Caparas. Thank you to our hosts and steering committee:

Host Committee

Richard Adler & Madeleine Boyer

Max and Elyse Berger

Jeff Braff & Hope Comisky

Michelle Brennan

Ed Blumenthal

Amy Branch & Jeff Benoliel

Stephen & Bina Bilenky

Phoebe Coles

Allan Domb

Pat Cunnane & Madeleine Dean

Robert Dredge

Jeffrey & Ruth Ann Dubb

Jason & Angela Duckworth

Laura & Richard Fredricks

Brady Gibney

Anne Gordon & Phil Berman

Bill Hauser

David Hilton

Paul Horvat

Jerry and Julie Jacobs

Ali Jaffar

Sandy & Gail Lipstein

Brian Lipstein

Jamie & Lisa Maguire

Ryan Oelkers

James Paterno

Joe Piscitello & Marissa Perrone

Chris Rassekh

Theresa & John Rollins

Lou Savastani

Leslye Silver

Amarjit Singh

Jay & Terry Snider

Fred Stampone

Jerry Sweeney

Lee & Nancy Tabas

Caitlin Thompson

Tom Vernon & Pat West

Bob Victor

Steering Committee

Lee Caparas, chair

Ed Chang

Phoebe Coles

Sue Goldstein

Brooke Rothman

Jerome Whitener

Share This